Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Found it!

This is the live nativity we went to at Mt. Bethel.  I miss the real cows, sheep and assorted llamas but it was still nice to sit in the sanctuary and hear the Christmas story.
Good news is I finally found my Christmas spirit. Not sure exactly what ignited it but I'm feeling much more festive than 2 days ago.  Probably only have about half of the shopping completed at this moment but I'm finally getting caught up in all that is Christmas.  Humming Carols, saying Merry Christmas, being a little more festive and a lot more upbeat.

I have been to Crossfit for 3 days in a row. Go me!  I've got my determination and grit back.  My shoulder is still a little bit off but not so much that I need to rest it.  I want to make a real effort to make these next 3 weeks count, exercisewise. Looking forward to looking at lights and running with Yuri tomorrow night :)





Sunday, December 11, 2011

Looking for the elusive Christmas spirit


The cute cookies are courtesy of the best neighbor in the world, Barbara Stoepplewerth!  
Well Sunday turned into another of the dark, dreary days of winter that we have been experiencing too many of lately!  I need sunshine so badly.  I've been blasting my SAD light whenever I get a chance but even that is not picking up the spirit.
We went to Carter's 6th birthday today.  It is hard to believe these little guys are going on 6.  6 years we've lived on Club Valley Drive.  Time does pass by too quickly.  Before we know it the boys will be on their way to college as well.  The party was a bouncey place.  Very well organized and tons of fun. I know Cooper was dripping of sweat when it came time for cupcakes.
The rest of the evening, we decorated the Christmas tree.  I always get so nostalgic when we do this. Grandma Louise was definitely present in the room last night. I miss her.  I miss going to her house on Christmas eve, the anticipation...the food...and above all The Oyster stew.  I want to provide Suzy and Cooper with the same experiences but because of illness on my parents side we can ever seem to capture what it once was.  Or am I just older?  Have I just lost the magic of Christmas?  Maybe instead of barreling full steam ahead to the next project, I should sit back and take a breath and let Christmas fill me. I don't want to be scrooge, I've got to get out of this funk once and for all. Please God help me with this.



Saturday, December 10, 2011

Caroling in Beverly Hills

I did something tonight that I've never done before. Christmas Caroling!  I have to say it was very fun to get out with neighbors and sing some of our favorite Christmas songs.

The Allhoffs invited us over for appetizers and drinks and then 10 of us set out singing up and down our street.  We really didn't have many people come to the door which totally surprised me but something Danny said made me happy.  He said, that even if we didn't see them, there were probably many people standing behind their doors smiling.  I hope so!   I know my family enjoyed the heck out of it and if we organized it better next year and started earlier I think we'd have a much better reception.  Danny is pushing to do it again next Saturday but with Cooper's party on Sunday I really don't think I'm going to have time to get everything together for a repeat.  I wish we didn't have to squeeze everything into a few weeks a year.  Maybe we should start a new tradition ...Patriotic caroling on the 4th??












Thursday, December 8, 2011

Wednesday, December 7, 2011

Dark and Dreary


Ugh!  The sky today illustrates my mood to a T.  
I don't like feeling like this so close to Christmas, it will break I'm sure.  I just need to cue up some Andy Williams on the Ipod.
Went to see Dr. Larry today for a little girlie check up.  Not happy at all that I've gained 6lbs since the Marathon.  I've been eating pretty poorly the past few weeks, must have finally caught up with me.  At least I know what I need to do now.  I ran yesterday before work and tonight after dinner.  6 miles in 2 days, it's a lot more than I've done the past two weeks.  :)
Shoulder is feeling so much better but I'm so hesitant to go back to Crossfit.  I've got to get back, I have to get my "kick ass and take names" mind frame back.

Tuesday, December 6, 2011

Reincar?

I guess I'd better watch out for the traffic violations the next few weeks while I'm driving the "Reincar", it's pretty easy to spot those antlers and the bright red nose.

I have this funny idea but really no way to make it happen.
What if we put 6-7 cars with antlers following each other going down I-285 and then had a guy dressed up as Santa in a red pickup driving the caboose. Would that not be the funniest thing ever?.
I really should have gone into advertising!



Monday, December 5, 2011

New week, new visit to the doctor

Good lord, will there ever be a week I'm not going to the doctor?   It's totally not that bad but for some reason I just keep hurting myself.  I decided late last week to schedule an appointment with Emory sports medicine since my shoulder was still bothering me from the bench presses I did on my birthday.  I just knew it was a torn rotator cuff, after all.... it mimicked every symptom on the web...and the web is never wrong...hahahaha.

Got to the doc bright and early this morning only to be pushed back by a bunch of Falcon's players who had gotten hurt in the game the day prior.  I didn't mind, kind of cool thinking you are seeing the same doctor as a professional football player! Finally my turn.  X-rays and of course more waiting.  Dr. Webb was pretty darn awesome though and showed me exactly what was going on in my Xray.  No tears, thank you Lord!  Just a case of bursitis and tendonitis.  The end of my shoulder is shaped a little funky so it pushes down on the tendons causing the inflammation.  He suggested cortisone and since I had seen such improved relief with my foot I jumped at the chance. So now, I can return to normal activities, I just have to not lift above my head and ice after every workout.  I say that's a win!

Emailed my Crossfit guy and he seemed fine with me coming in and doing so less strenuous lifting. So I'll be there bright and early in the morning. Nothing is stopping me from doing those Monkey bars!



Sunday, December 4, 2011

My wacky neighbors

I have got some of the best neighbors around.  There is Barbara who walks in our house even if we aren't home to leave cookies or other treats, Then there are the Gavens who would drop anything to help you and least we not forget The Allhoffs.  I have been having a decorating contest with Tom Allhoff, to see who can be the tackiest.  Well last night, I found this blow up Snowman nestled in my yard.  The joke being I told him a night before that blowups disqualified you.  Oh well, he's cute and he makes a good buddy for my old school frosty. Welcome to the Griswoldified yard, Mr. Blowup Snowdude.



Saturday, December 3, 2011

Coops playing the hoops!


Cooper's first ever basketball game was this morning.  First off, let me say that Johnson Ferry Basketball is a well oiled machine and Danny and I are both totally blown away with how easy they make it seem.  Second off, Coops the hoopsmaster had 2 steals and a basket.  He was so proud of himself, He has now eclipsed the basketball careers of the both sides of the family. Way to go big man!
Oh and lest we forget my kid got the "Christlike" award, yeah...he rocks!


Friday, December 2, 2011

The aftermath

I didn't write yesterday, teleworked from home and decorated the yard for Christmas. It's starting to come together but for some reason I keep blowing a fuse (literal not figurative).  Must be too many pretty lights!!!!


Missed the last two days of Crossfit and I'm totally bummed. My right shoulder is frickin killing me.  Not all the time but definitely when  I try to lift it. This is so frustrating, the only thing I can think is that I did it at Crossfit on Wednesday.  We did both bench presses and dips, I don't know if one or the combo of both set it off.  It's funny though it didn't hurt until I took a nap Wednesday afternoon. When I woke up it was so painful. The pain is worst at night and again when I try to lift my right arm overhead. I've been trying to schedule an appointment with the Emory sports med people but wouldn't you know it....their appointment calendar is down  :(

I'm going to rest it this weekend, and take ibuprofen. Depends on how I feel on Monday morning as to whether I'll attempt Crossfit. I'm running with my friend Yuri tomorrow morning so at least I'll get some exercise in.  Ugh I hope this isn't serious, I was beginning to feel like I was holding my own at Crossfit.

Busy weekend ahead, Tonight we have the Garden club Christmas party and tomorrow we have Cooper's first basketball game and the SEC Championship game.  Fun! Fun!