Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Happy Birthday to me!

Today is my birthday.  I'm enjoying the day so far even if I did have to go to work for the 1st time ever!  I've changed a lot since those days of badgering my friends by counting down the seconds til the clock struck 12:00AM on November 30.  I almost feel like (dare I say it), an adult!  Pretty cool thought that I can actually  spend the day soaking it in instead of expecting a parade around every corner.  My expectations have often been a little over the top, so I know Danny is glad I've taken it down a notch the past few years.

I had to come into the office to record a podcast this morning, but luckily I don't have to have it edited until Friday so I'm taking a very long lunch break that should last until 9AM tomorrow morning.  Don't have anything really on the schedule, I've got to do a Costco run and figure out what sweet yummy thing I want for dessert tonight.  Otherwise I think I'm going to Griswold up the yard.  I bought Rudolph and the abominable snowman last night at Sears, that should add nicely to our eclectic collection of yard ornaments.  This year I have competition in the neighborhood so it's going to get a little interesting :) :) :)

Good news, I finally got a run in last night.  All 2 miles of it.  Trust me, there are only so many times you can run an indoor track before you start feeling a little dizzy.  I did it, it didn't hurt and I think may try 3 miles tomorrow night.  Today, I did crossfit even with my sore quads and arms. We did bench presses (which I totally enjoyed) and then an AMRAP of 10 dips, 12 box jumps, 14, sit ups and 16 double cross overs (jump rope). It's always so challenging there.  I feel like I'm beginning to get into the groove, it's a totally different culture than boot camp and I totally miss the social interactions but I'm starting to buddy up with a couple of people there.

So what's the good word....Today is my birthday and I'm outta here!
My gift to myself ... The abominable snowman....








Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Birthday eve



It’s dreary, dark, rainy and cold outside today. Did I mention it’s absolutely dreadful too?  I have heard reports of snow but haven’t seen any flakes on the commute in or at Emory today.   It’s a shock to the system since we’ve been sporting shorts and flip flops up until today.  I’m surviving though, Thanks to my birthday present.   It’s a Land’s end silver down coat and it’s rockin’! It’s like wearing a big warm hug every time I go outside :)

These kinds of days put me in a very lazy mood.  I rolled over when it was time to go to crossfit today and blamed my sore muscles.  I am sore, and in my quads for some reason.  We only did 100 squats; you’d think my legs were used to that by now!  My arms are very hurty but I was expecting that, I think my goal this next 4 weeks is to finally come home from crossfit and not feel like my arms are toast.  Patience and perseverance are all it takes!  I am determined to go run at the Johnson Ferry gym tonight while Cooper is at basketball practice.  I need to do something cardio.  Speaking of, I went for my foot recheck with Dr. Peebles today.  It looks good and no reason for any more visits. Hooray!  He asked how my running was going and I told him straight up that I hadn’t done any since the marathon.  I thought he’d fuss a little but he said a lot of people take time off after a long distance race. Most take a day for every mile. That, made me feel so much better.  I don’t want running to be a chore. I want to do it when my body is ready, so I get all those lovely endorphins pumping again.    
 
Scheduled Cooper’s birthday party and lined up an ice skating instructor.  I hope he has fun at his party.  I know this wasn’t his first choice but it’s so much easier to get to, and who knows maybe we will have a little hockey star on our hands.

Monday, November 28, 2011

...up ahead Year 42

One thing I learned from Team in Training/Marathon is that I really like to blog.  It is very nice to look back at all the goals accomplished, attitudes changed, and lessons learned.
So, I figured what the heck?  Why not continue on this format and see where it leads.  I've had an amazing year so far and I don't want to forget the small details along the way.

The first picture is from my fabulous weekend, not only did we win over Tech but my family also gave me a great little birthday celebration.  It was fun and low key and I would not have had it any other way.

As for today, it's dark and gloomy and bed would be the best place to be but I've been out Gobbling for a week so I need to catch up on work.  Started the day off bright and early at Crossfit doing "Thanksgiving Recovery Operations".
which was .......
100 burpees
100 pull ups
100 kettle bell swings
100 push ups
100 squats
well, I rocked the squats!  Those burpees were absolute hell though.  I just have to stay focused and if I can lift my arms tomorrow, I got to suck it in and do it again!