Berry Half Marathon was Saturday. My first and hopefully worst of the season. It was long, hilly and honestly I just wasn't feeling it at all. Thank goodness the rain stayed away or I probably would have quit mid-course.
I think my main problem was that I hadn't eaten correctly before the race. I was trying to go all Paleo, and even talked to my crossfit guy about what I should eat. He said coconut water, sweet potatoes and protein. I ate the potatoes and drank my fair share of coconut water but somehow forgot about the protein. Saturday morning I got up and had half a banana. THAT was it. Around mile 4, the nerves wore off and the energy levels dropped. Luckily I had brought Gu and they were also giving the stuff away on the course. This is the only reason I was able to finish. Worst half marathon to date!!! My feet hurt like crazy and I had no real energy the entire 13.1 miles. At least I have 2 more races to improve it.

What I can take from this is two things. 1) my shoes suck! No worries, I've already replaced them and will be able to test them out tomorrow. I went back to Nike. 2) maybe I do need REAL carbs before the race. I am dedicated to Paleo but my body needs fuel in order to function. I need to listen to it and stop being so stubborn.
All in all, my favorite part was spending time with Suzy. I love that kid so much!!! AND she totally rocked the course and set a new personal record . I'm so proud of her!
No comments:
Post a Comment