Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Found it!

This is the live nativity we went to at Mt. Bethel.  I miss the real cows, sheep and assorted llamas but it was still nice to sit in the sanctuary and hear the Christmas story.
Good news is I finally found my Christmas spirit. Not sure exactly what ignited it but I'm feeling much more festive than 2 days ago.  Probably only have about half of the shopping completed at this moment but I'm finally getting caught up in all that is Christmas.  Humming Carols, saying Merry Christmas, being a little more festive and a lot more upbeat.

I have been to Crossfit for 3 days in a row. Go me!  I've got my determination and grit back.  My shoulder is still a little bit off but not so much that I need to rest it.  I want to make a real effort to make these next 3 weeks count, exercisewise. Looking forward to looking at lights and running with Yuri tomorrow night :)





Sunday, December 11, 2011

Looking for the elusive Christmas spirit


The cute cookies are courtesy of the best neighbor in the world, Barbara Stoepplewerth!  
Well Sunday turned into another of the dark, dreary days of winter that we have been experiencing too many of lately!  I need sunshine so badly.  I've been blasting my SAD light whenever I get a chance but even that is not picking up the spirit.
We went to Carter's 6th birthday today.  It is hard to believe these little guys are going on 6.  6 years we've lived on Club Valley Drive.  Time does pass by too quickly.  Before we know it the boys will be on their way to college as well.  The party was a bouncey place.  Very well organized and tons of fun. I know Cooper was dripping of sweat when it came time for cupcakes.
The rest of the evening, we decorated the Christmas tree.  I always get so nostalgic when we do this. Grandma Louise was definitely present in the room last night. I miss her.  I miss going to her house on Christmas eve, the anticipation...the food...and above all The Oyster stew.  I want to provide Suzy and Cooper with the same experiences but because of illness on my parents side we can ever seem to capture what it once was.  Or am I just older?  Have I just lost the magic of Christmas?  Maybe instead of barreling full steam ahead to the next project, I should sit back and take a breath and let Christmas fill me. I don't want to be scrooge, I've got to get out of this funk once and for all. Please God help me with this.



Saturday, December 10, 2011

Caroling in Beverly Hills

I did something tonight that I've never done before. Christmas Caroling!  I have to say it was very fun to get out with neighbors and sing some of our favorite Christmas songs.

The Allhoffs invited us over for appetizers and drinks and then 10 of us set out singing up and down our street.  We really didn't have many people come to the door which totally surprised me but something Danny said made me happy.  He said, that even if we didn't see them, there were probably many people standing behind their doors smiling.  I hope so!   I know my family enjoyed the heck out of it and if we organized it better next year and started earlier I think we'd have a much better reception.  Danny is pushing to do it again next Saturday but with Cooper's party on Sunday I really don't think I'm going to have time to get everything together for a repeat.  I wish we didn't have to squeeze everything into a few weeks a year.  Maybe we should start a new tradition ...Patriotic caroling on the 4th??












Thursday, December 8, 2011

Wednesday, December 7, 2011

Dark and Dreary


Ugh!  The sky today illustrates my mood to a T.  
I don't like feeling like this so close to Christmas, it will break I'm sure.  I just need to cue up some Andy Williams on the Ipod.
Went to see Dr. Larry today for a little girlie check up.  Not happy at all that I've gained 6lbs since the Marathon.  I've been eating pretty poorly the past few weeks, must have finally caught up with me.  At least I know what I need to do now.  I ran yesterday before work and tonight after dinner.  6 miles in 2 days, it's a lot more than I've done the past two weeks.  :)
Shoulder is feeling so much better but I'm so hesitant to go back to Crossfit.  I've got to get back, I have to get my "kick ass and take names" mind frame back.

Tuesday, December 6, 2011

Reincar?

I guess I'd better watch out for the traffic violations the next few weeks while I'm driving the "Reincar", it's pretty easy to spot those antlers and the bright red nose.

I have this funny idea but really no way to make it happen.
What if we put 6-7 cars with antlers following each other going down I-285 and then had a guy dressed up as Santa in a red pickup driving the caboose. Would that not be the funniest thing ever?.
I really should have gone into advertising!



Monday, December 5, 2011

New week, new visit to the doctor

Good lord, will there ever be a week I'm not going to the doctor?   It's totally not that bad but for some reason I just keep hurting myself.  I decided late last week to schedule an appointment with Emory sports medicine since my shoulder was still bothering me from the bench presses I did on my birthday.  I just knew it was a torn rotator cuff, after all.... it mimicked every symptom on the web...and the web is never wrong...hahahaha.

Got to the doc bright and early this morning only to be pushed back by a bunch of Falcon's players who had gotten hurt in the game the day prior.  I didn't mind, kind of cool thinking you are seeing the same doctor as a professional football player! Finally my turn.  X-rays and of course more waiting.  Dr. Webb was pretty darn awesome though and showed me exactly what was going on in my Xray.  No tears, thank you Lord!  Just a case of bursitis and tendonitis.  The end of my shoulder is shaped a little funky so it pushes down on the tendons causing the inflammation.  He suggested cortisone and since I had seen such improved relief with my foot I jumped at the chance. So now, I can return to normal activities, I just have to not lift above my head and ice after every workout.  I say that's a win!

Emailed my Crossfit guy and he seemed fine with me coming in and doing so less strenuous lifting. So I'll be there bright and early in the morning. Nothing is stopping me from doing those Monkey bars!



Sunday, December 4, 2011

My wacky neighbors

I have got some of the best neighbors around.  There is Barbara who walks in our house even if we aren't home to leave cookies or other treats, Then there are the Gavens who would drop anything to help you and least we not forget The Allhoffs.  I have been having a decorating contest with Tom Allhoff, to see who can be the tackiest.  Well last night, I found this blow up Snowman nestled in my yard.  The joke being I told him a night before that blowups disqualified you.  Oh well, he's cute and he makes a good buddy for my old school frosty. Welcome to the Griswoldified yard, Mr. Blowup Snowdude.



Saturday, December 3, 2011

Coops playing the hoops!


Cooper's first ever basketball game was this morning.  First off, let me say that Johnson Ferry Basketball is a well oiled machine and Danny and I are both totally blown away with how easy they make it seem.  Second off, Coops the hoopsmaster had 2 steals and a basket.  He was so proud of himself, He has now eclipsed the basketball careers of the both sides of the family. Way to go big man!
Oh and lest we forget my kid got the "Christlike" award, yeah...he rocks!


Friday, December 2, 2011

The aftermath

I didn't write yesterday, teleworked from home and decorated the yard for Christmas. It's starting to come together but for some reason I keep blowing a fuse (literal not figurative).  Must be too many pretty lights!!!!


Missed the last two days of Crossfit and I'm totally bummed. My right shoulder is frickin killing me.  Not all the time but definitely when  I try to lift it. This is so frustrating, the only thing I can think is that I did it at Crossfit on Wednesday.  We did both bench presses and dips, I don't know if one or the combo of both set it off.  It's funny though it didn't hurt until I took a nap Wednesday afternoon. When I woke up it was so painful. The pain is worst at night and again when I try to lift my right arm overhead. I've been trying to schedule an appointment with the Emory sports med people but wouldn't you know it....their appointment calendar is down  :(

I'm going to rest it this weekend, and take ibuprofen. Depends on how I feel on Monday morning as to whether I'll attempt Crossfit. I'm running with my friend Yuri tomorrow morning so at least I'll get some exercise in.  Ugh I hope this isn't serious, I was beginning to feel like I was holding my own at Crossfit.

Busy weekend ahead, Tonight we have the Garden club Christmas party and tomorrow we have Cooper's first basketball game and the SEC Championship game.  Fun! Fun!


Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Happy Birthday to me!

Today is my birthday.  I'm enjoying the day so far even if I did have to go to work for the 1st time ever!  I've changed a lot since those days of badgering my friends by counting down the seconds til the clock struck 12:00AM on November 30.  I almost feel like (dare I say it), an adult!  Pretty cool thought that I can actually  spend the day soaking it in instead of expecting a parade around every corner.  My expectations have often been a little over the top, so I know Danny is glad I've taken it down a notch the past few years.

I had to come into the office to record a podcast this morning, but luckily I don't have to have it edited until Friday so I'm taking a very long lunch break that should last until 9AM tomorrow morning.  Don't have anything really on the schedule, I've got to do a Costco run and figure out what sweet yummy thing I want for dessert tonight.  Otherwise I think I'm going to Griswold up the yard.  I bought Rudolph and the abominable snowman last night at Sears, that should add nicely to our eclectic collection of yard ornaments.  This year I have competition in the neighborhood so it's going to get a little interesting :) :) :)

Good news, I finally got a run in last night.  All 2 miles of it.  Trust me, there are only so many times you can run an indoor track before you start feeling a little dizzy.  I did it, it didn't hurt and I think may try 3 miles tomorrow night.  Today, I did crossfit even with my sore quads and arms. We did bench presses (which I totally enjoyed) and then an AMRAP of 10 dips, 12 box jumps, 14, sit ups and 16 double cross overs (jump rope). It's always so challenging there.  I feel like I'm beginning to get into the groove, it's a totally different culture than boot camp and I totally miss the social interactions but I'm starting to buddy up with a couple of people there.

So what's the good word....Today is my birthday and I'm outta here!
My gift to myself ... The abominable snowman....








Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Birthday eve



It’s dreary, dark, rainy and cold outside today. Did I mention it’s absolutely dreadful too?  I have heard reports of snow but haven’t seen any flakes on the commute in or at Emory today.   It’s a shock to the system since we’ve been sporting shorts and flip flops up until today.  I’m surviving though, Thanks to my birthday present.   It’s a Land’s end silver down coat and it’s rockin’! It’s like wearing a big warm hug every time I go outside :)

These kinds of days put me in a very lazy mood.  I rolled over when it was time to go to crossfit today and blamed my sore muscles.  I am sore, and in my quads for some reason.  We only did 100 squats; you’d think my legs were used to that by now!  My arms are very hurty but I was expecting that, I think my goal this next 4 weeks is to finally come home from crossfit and not feel like my arms are toast.  Patience and perseverance are all it takes!  I am determined to go run at the Johnson Ferry gym tonight while Cooper is at basketball practice.  I need to do something cardio.  Speaking of, I went for my foot recheck with Dr. Peebles today.  It looks good and no reason for any more visits. Hooray!  He asked how my running was going and I told him straight up that I hadn’t done any since the marathon.  I thought he’d fuss a little but he said a lot of people take time off after a long distance race. Most take a day for every mile. That, made me feel so much better.  I don’t want running to be a chore. I want to do it when my body is ready, so I get all those lovely endorphins pumping again.    
 
Scheduled Cooper’s birthday party and lined up an ice skating instructor.  I hope he has fun at his party.  I know this wasn’t his first choice but it’s so much easier to get to, and who knows maybe we will have a little hockey star on our hands.

Monday, November 28, 2011

...up ahead Year 42

One thing I learned from Team in Training/Marathon is that I really like to blog.  It is very nice to look back at all the goals accomplished, attitudes changed, and lessons learned.
So, I figured what the heck?  Why not continue on this format and see where it leads.  I've had an amazing year so far and I don't want to forget the small details along the way.

The first picture is from my fabulous weekend, not only did we win over Tech but my family also gave me a great little birthday celebration.  It was fun and low key and I would not have had it any other way.

As for today, it's dark and gloomy and bed would be the best place to be but I've been out Gobbling for a week so I need to catch up on work.  Started the day off bright and early at Crossfit doing "Thanksgiving Recovery Operations".
which was .......
100 burpees
100 pull ups
100 kettle bell swings
100 push ups
100 squats
well, I rocked the squats!  Those burpees were absolute hell though.  I just have to stay focused and if I can lift my arms tomorrow, I got to suck it in and do it again!